post RM-hysteria

It’s easy to read about what went on in the RM awards. It was all over the news. So let’s talk about what the news didn’t say. First of all, my dad was so funny on stage. Lumalabas ang pagiging ADHD niya, waving at the audience, pumping his fists in the air, doing the thumbs-up sign (oh diba kahit wala siyang Facebook marunong siya ng LIKES THIS). You can catch the last five minutes of his acceptance speech here. (The night before I sang at his thanksgiving dinner. I was on the verge of tears when I was talking because I’m a dork like that. After my second song, “Paraiso,” he was in tears din. HAHA. My dad is my liiiife!)

My favorite awardees are Krisana Kraisintu from Thailand and Ka Hsaw Wa from Burma. Ms. Kraisintu told my mom, “I love Filipino food! I can eat adobo everyday!”

she is so cute. kinda reminds me of Edna Mode from the Incredibles.
ka hsaw wa (i love saying his name) is only 39 years old! you can feel his energy and zest for life crackling in the air.
On the way to the awarding ceremony, Uli and I kept singing Manny Villar’s jingle. How can you not love it! “Akala mo petiks, yun pala mali/Akala mo conyo, yun pala laking tondo!” When we saw MV in the lobby of CCP we freaked out and had a picture taken with him. Look at those giddy faces!

akala mo trapo yun pala ka-tropa mo! ✔

Ops I am not endorsing MV (or anyone just yet) for presidency ha! Maraming namamatay sa maling akala. So just visit http://www.akalamo.com for more info (I’m not kidding, it’s a real site!) HAHA!

I gathered the courage to introduce myself to Emily Abrera, one of the people I look up to in the field of the arts. I was all like, “Hi you’re my idol really you are I really look up to you ’cause… You’re the best.” WTF?

The highlight was seeing Sec. Ace Durano. Ma and I are huge admirers (understatement!) of his so we kinda went insane when we saw him. I was all like, “Hi Sir!” and he goes, “Anna! You know, I really enjoy reading your blog!”

WHUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUTTTTTTTTTTTTUUUUUUPPPPP yan na po ang greatest achievement ko in life!!!! Kung pwede lang ilagay ‘yan sa resume under “AWARDS RECEIVED”!!!!!

I really think he has the coolest job ever: to go around the most beautiful country on earth and improve its tourism. He has done so much to put us on the map and provide employment through tourism, which is how it’s supposed to be. THAT’s what I want to do for a living. I’m gonna work for the DOT in my lifetime. I just know it.

After surveying who else we could have a picture with, Uli bumped into Sen. Pia Cayetano. Literally bumped into her. Tapos itong wa-klas kong kapatid yelled, “RAISA SI PIA CAYETANO O, PA-PICTURE TAYO!!!! MARIEL!!! PA-PICTURE TAYO!!!” RIGHT IN FRONT OF HER HAHA ANG JOLOGS!!!!

I congratulated her for making it to the international Ironman competition. How awesome is that? Hardcore athlete!

At the gala dinner, we had our picture taken with Jaime Agusto Zobel de Ayala who’s overflowing with sex appeal. Tita Chinky calls him George Clooney.

My dad SANG AT THE GALA DINNER! He sang “Usahay” which is like, the national anthem of the Bisaya (next to “Matud Nila” of course). JAZA said they’re gonna change his award from environment to music. Chela!

Papa introduced me to Mareng Winnie, another idol of mine. She advised me to shift from English to Economics. Hmmmm no. Haha. Check out the video of Mikey Arroyo and Mareng Winnie if you haven’t yet. “Sue me!” Tanga ni Mikey. Sana hindi nalang siya nag pa-interview.
LIKES THIS daw, sabi ni former president FVR
and Cheche Lazaro

What an awesome night.

***

I can’t not write about this.

So. Cheche Lazaro. She hosts this show called Media in Focus on ANC. I loved the episode on the National Artist issue because of Sir Dalisay and another man named Alexis Tioseco. (Do watch the video. Very insightful.) Vicky told me that Alexis Tioseo and his girlfriend were shot dead a few days ago. This made me really sad because we need more Filipinos like him: idealistic and passionate. Must reads: his letter to Nika and the extended version of his wishlist for Philippine cinema. I particularly like what he said about the MMFF! True dat. No more Enteng Kabisotes and Mano Pos please! I hope someone from the film/media industry picks up something and makes it his/her advocacy.

Tagged ,

Leave a comment